Waking the Bear (Broken Chains #1)


cooltext192496212069469Golden starGolden starGolden starGolden star


Sexy shifter passion is awakened when two unlikely lovers are challenged by secrets, danger and an unstoppable need to claim one’s mate…

For human Amy Francis, the secluded cabin in Deep Creek is the haven she needs to map out a fresh new start. She never expected her heart to be reawakened by a distraction like Griff Martin, commanding yet gentle, too ferociously sensual to ignore. It’s clear that patrolling the forest is more than a job to Griff—it’s a means of survival. But what Amy doesn’t realize is she’s reawakened the beast within him.

Griff’s dormant hunger is stirred by this intoxicating woman…and threatened by the secret she must never learn. Duty-bound to defend his bear clan against an avenging pride of lion shifters, Griff’s entire world is upended when he meets Amy. His animal need to claim his mate has taken hold, but that very desire could seal her fate as an unwitting pawn in battle.

Now, as a shifter war looms, Griff must decide between letting Amy go or following his most carnal instincts. To have her would change his life…but risk everything he knows and was born to protect.


  Waking the Bear is the 1st book in Kerry Adrienne new series Broken Chains.

Amy Francis needed a place to vacation alone, long enough to decide what she would do with the rest of her life.  So when she came across the listen for a cabin in Deep Creak she hoped at the chance.  Just coming out of a bad relationship, she wasn’t looking to immediately fall into another one, until she meets the owner of the cabin Parker Ranger Griff Martin.

Griff Martin and his pack members are preparing to go to war with the lion pack.  With the distraction of war and his old enemy showing up, he forgets to remove his cabin from the realtors rental properties list. But when he meets his new tenant, all bets are off.

Griff must find some way of keeping Amy in Deep Creek and keep her hidden from his enemies.

Waking the Bear was a good shifter romance. The story was short, but otherwise steady. This book set the stage nicely for the other titles. I will definitely be reading the other titles in this series…just to see the outcome of the war.


Print Length: 212 pages

Publisher: Carina Press

Publication Date: July 12, 2016

Series: Broken Chains #1

Characters: Griff, Amy


Don't be shy. I love to hear from my readers. Leave a comment!