Talen (Dark Protectors, #7.76)

Talen by Rebecca Zanetti

My rating: 

Publisher: Lyrical Press

Publication Date: June 6, 2017

Print Length: 96 pages


I have been a blogger for just about three years now. 😊 It has been a journey to come this far. Thank you, everyone, who’s following my blog from the conception. But as life has shown us. It’s forever changing and evolving. So, like life…I too must evolve. To begin this transformation, I will start with the way I rate my books. Nothing too huge. For even though life changes, I am only human, and as such, don’t really care for change.

But I am doing away with the plain looking stars. Yep, gone and forever shall we part. Out with the old in with the new. Yearwood La Novela is going animated. Thus, depending on how great the book was, will depend on what the animation shall be. To implement this modification. I thought that Talen should be the perfect book to do the big reveal.

Again, thanks to all my old followers and hello new ones. On to the book review.

She’ll love him forever . . . but he can’t make her obey . . .

The war is over. Danger has passed. Cara Kayrs is healed after decades of illness and ready for a break.

Too bad her brooding, alpha vampire husband can’t seem to change gears. In their twenty-five years, together Talen Kayrs has learned to sense every shiver of her body, to ignite her desire with a word or a look. She would think he could learn she’s not some fragile damsel in distress.

But Talen is on edge, watching their backs, treating her like she’s made of glass. Like there’s something following them, a deadly threat that somehow none of their intelligence has uncovered. It’s enough to drive a woman crazy, and Talen has plenty of those tendencies already.

But what’s even more maddening is that he seems to be right . . .

Never think something is ever complete. As author knows that when a character speaks to you, it must be time to write their story. Well, Talen and Cara spoke to Rebecca Zanetti. Their journey wasn’t finished like we thought.  We see that it has been twenty-fives years that Talen and Cara have been married. That they’re happily married with two adult children and one adorable grandchild. What we also see, is Talen being Talen. That’s right…you would think that after twenty-five years and there’s peace among demons that Talen would stop being over protective. Nope! And like Talen is found saying “I have lived over a decade, to know that peace is short lived.” Not a perfect quote, but you see what I mean. But later you would understand that Talen is never wrong. Because no sooner, then they leave the house demons are hot on their trail. And their mission is to capture Cara.
It is not too often, that authors revisit old characters, and we as readers get to see our beloved characters once more and to see how they’re faring. You would think once that character or characters story has been told that its the end of it. But it’s nice to know, we can never assume anything.

Like in their original story, Talen is again a badass, out to prove that he is still nothing to mess with….in war or peace time. And when it comes to protecting Cara he would do absolutely anything.

For Talen to be a short novella, it didn’t take long for me to fall in love with Talen and Cara all over again. I think this might be true for you.
Talen by Rebecca Zanetti goes on sale June 6, 2017

I found this book to a dream of a book. Therefore, I thought…why not an Angel. In the comments below tell me what you think about the new changes.

To Love a Texas Ranger (Men of Legend #1)

To Love a Texas Ranger (Men of Legend Book 1) by [Broday, Linda]To Love a Texas Ranger by Linda Broday

My rating: Golden starGolden starGolden star

Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Publication Date: October 4, 2016

Print Length: 448 pages


A Ranger. A Cowboy. An Outlaw.
Men of Legend

The Texas Ranger
Gravely injured on the trail of a notorious criminal, Texas Ranger Sam Legend boards a train bound for his family ranch to recuperate…only to find himself locked in battle to save a desperate woman on the run. Determined to rescue the beautiful Sierra, Sam recruits an unlikely ally. But can he trust the mysterious gunslinger to fight at his side?

Sam is shocked to discover his new ally is not only an outlaw, but his half-brother. Torn between loyalty to his job and love of his family, Sam goes reeling straight into Sierra’s arms. Yet just as the walls around his battered heart begin to crumble, Sierra is stolen away. Sam will risk anything to save her-his life, his badge, his very soul-knowing that some bonds are stronger than the law…and some legends were born to be told.

To Love a Texas Ranger is the first book in Linda Broday’s Men of Legend series about a band of siblings and the ladies who will soon come to love them.

I don’t know whether my Kindle or life was attempting to disclose something to me. Each time I attempt to pick this book to start it, either my Kindle was dead or only had two bars left or life sets in.

Either way, making sure that the Kindle fully charged and the outside world was left outside. I made sure that nothing interferes with me starting and completing To Love a Texas Ranger.
I attempted to get into the romantic tale of Sam & Sierra, yet for reasons unknown, they wouldn’t let me. Both were just too damaged. I ended up instructing them to get over it. I was trusting that some place, amid the course, of the 448 pages that they would resigned themselves.

In any case, I found something to like about this book. For example, I found that it was bound for me to have perused Houston’s book. I enjoyed Houston’s character or what little foundation that we saw in the brief timeframe. I also need for it to be November as of yesterday. Yes, I am wishing my summer away before it even arrives to make sure I could buy a book and read about a fictional character that I come to love. The woman who comes to love Luke will have her hands full.
This story was alright not awesome like the second book. But, by reading this series out of order. I came to realize that these books could be read out of order of publication. By no means will you find yourself missing anything regarding to storyline. However, by reading this story I learned something that I never thought I wanted to know…the birthing order of the three Legend siblings.
 

To Love a Texas Ranger (Men of Legend Book 1) by [Broday, Linda]

   To Love a Texas Ranger (Men of Legend #1)

51ty4lmtxal

       The Heart of a Texas Cowboy (Men of Legend #2)

*****The Heart of a Texas Cowboy comes out May 1, 2017.*****

Thanks for stopping by to read this review. Leave a comment if you want to know anything more about this book.

Linda Broday

Biography

I’m a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author and make my living writing western historical romance. I am truly fortunate to live in the Texas Panhandle on land where the American Indian and Comancheros once roamed. I’m inspired every single day. I’ve always been fascinated with cowboys and the American West way of life because to me these men and women embody the spirit and strength I want in my characters. My desire to keep history alive is what drives me. Also, these pesky characters in my head that refuse to go away! I can’t imagine writing anything else. My wish is to touch a reader’s heart in some way and have them coming back for more. If I can do that, I’ll have succeeded.

I’m a regular contributor at http://www.PetticoatsandPistols.com and blog there every third Tuesday of the month. You can also find me at http://www.casablancaauthors.blogspot.com. I think it’s important to promote western historical romance any way I can and that’s what I strive to do.

My Best to each of you! May you always find a book that takes you on an unforgettable adventure.

 

Born of Legend: The League Nemesis Rising #9

51igxbcuy4lBorn of Legend by Sherrilyn Kenyon

My rating: Golden starGolden starGolden starGolden starGolden star

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Publication Date: June 21, 2016

Print Length: 737 pages


Hunted. Hated. Betrayed. Dagger Ixur is on the run for his life. As one of the most recognizable members of his royal house, he has a bounty on his head that guarantees him no quarter from any friend or even family. But surrender isn’t in him. He will fight to the bitter end. A resolve that is sorely tested when he narrowly escapes a trap that leaves him severely wounded. With what he believes is his dying breath, he saves a boy born to an extinct race from a group out to enslave the kid for his legendary abilities.

Ushara Altaan has spent her entire life hating those born to nobility. After all, it was a royal house that drove her entire species into virtual extinction. As a rare Andarion Fyreblood, she is sworn to end the existence of any royal she finds. But when Dagger saves her son’s life, she is torn between her people and a debt that can never be repaid.

Yet worse than Dagger’s family that’s still out to end hers, are the League assassins after him who will stop at nothing to claim the lives of her Tavali family. The only hope she has to save them all is to put their future and her faith into the hands of the very enemy whose grandmother personally extinguished Ushara’s legendary lineage. But how can she ever trust Dagger when he is a disinherited outlaw whose very name is synonymous with betrayal?

I am absolutely infatuated with Sherrilyn Kenyon League series. With this series, you will wind up cheering for when the scalawag/villainess at long last gets their comeuppance. You will wind up crying when an adored character experiences trouble times. Well in Born of Legend I ended up experiencing various feelings.

It’s not very frequently that I have feelings of regret for the way I felt about a character. But after reading this book, I would do anything to take back what I thought and said about Jullien.

On the off chance that you read the other books in this series, you will realize what I mean. They said you ought to never judge a book by its cover, don’t pass judgment on a man unless you have strolled a mile in their shoes. I don’t think I could have overcome everything Jullien had to, in order to survive. I found myself wanting to snatch and hold him tight. But again, I found myself crying, anytime Ushara or some other character held him.

In my opinion, this is the best book in the series to date. My recommendation…you should read The League: Nemesis Rising from the beginning. I will also recommend this book for any booklover who likes their men broken, however, who is adequately capable of overcoming any struggles that the world may toss his way.

51igxbcuy4l

 

When Danger Bites (Bravo Team WOLF #1)

cover111262-mediumWhen Danger Bites by Heather Long

My rating: Golden starGolden starGolden star

Publisher: Entangled Publishing, LLC

Publication Date: May 08, 2017

Print Length: 300 pages


Buttoned-up Corporal Kaitlyn Amador is dangerous on every level. As a human, she poses a threat to Marine Captain Jax Raymond’s special Force Recon unit. Though the team has a reputation among the other recon units, only their commanding officer knows their secret. As a woman, the danger posed is entirely different. Jax can survive the temptation for only so long before his wolf takes over and pursues what it wants.

Military intelligence specialist Corporal Kaitlyn Amador is the first woman in the Marines to be assigned to a recon team. And everyone’s watching her. Her mission? Not only prove herself worthy of her place in the group, but uncover the mystery of why Bravo Team is so successful. A mission that gets more difficult every time she’s near Jax…

When Danger Bites shows you that even the shadowy part of the government want a piece of the action when they learn the existence of shifters. to keep their pack safe from annihilation a band of wolves must join the services.
Captain Jax Raymond’s special Force Recon unit, is known as one of the best. Now the MIS wants to know their secrets. So, they send in MIS Corporal Kaitlyn “Kat” Amador to infiltrate the Force Recon unit to uncover the mystery of why Bravo Team is so successful.
Romance took a back seat in the 1st title in Bravo Team Wolf. All focus was on building the back story of this elite band of men. Which was totally okay, because without a backstory this series will never take off. Not to say that there wasn’t chemistry between Jax and Kaitlyn. That is what made this storyline work because normally I would complain that there wasn’t enough romance and that is what this genre is about…. Right! But the slow building of their growing attraction made it seemed somehow more real than having them confess their love from the beginning.
Initially, it was Jax training Kat to become part of the TEAM, but it really turns out it was Kat teaching Jax that not all women need a rough bunch of men to protect them.
All in all, I liked When Danger and looking forward to seeing where this series is heading.
I would recommend this book to readers whose into shifter, and military romance.

Lethal Lies (Blood Brothers, #2)

51sjb52bbwwlLethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

My rating: Golden starGolden starGolden starGolden starGolden star

Publisher: Hachette Book Group

Publication Date: May 16, 2017

Print Length: 416 pages


A deadly secret can’t stay buried forever . . .

Revenge. It’s the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars-even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can’t do this alone.

Private investigator Heath Jones’s job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it’s personal. He knew the Copper Killer’s latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he’s all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath’s identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath’s every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they’ll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.

Lethal Lies was a blast to read. The 2nd book to Rebecca Zanetti Blood Brother series. We have Heath Jones trying to bring justice to the lawless with the help of brothers. But things get personal when the serial killer nicknamed “Copper Killer” has an eye for Anya.
Anya has personal problems after walking in on her boyfriend getting busy with one of his students. But nothing is more personal when you attract the attention of a serial killer. With one phone call, Anya will change her life for the worse or better depending on your perceptions. I personally am the person who always sees the glass as half empty.
The action begins from the start and maintained that flow until the very last page. It was a pleasure to read this book. Matter affect I changed my whole entire reading order just to read this book first. I was hoping for goods things from this book since I really enjoyed the Sins Brothers and the first book in this new series.
Well, Rebecca Zanetti didn’t disappoint. The chemistry between Heath and Anya was captivating . What I enjoyed about this story, was the same thing that drew me in from the start…the romantic suspense. Let me say, that I thought I knew who the “Copper Killer” and it was a really shocker to found out who it really was.
I will recommend this book to anyone who is into romantic suspense. I also would recommend that you start with the Sins Brothers series to get the back history. Reason being that the villainess in this series made her appearance in the Sins Brother’s series.

Blood Brothers (3 Book Series)

51duuio0dql-_sx326_bo1204203200_

Deadly Silence (Blood Brothers Book 1)

51sjb52bbwwl

Lethal Lies (Blood Brothers Book 2)

Twisted Truths (Blood Brothers Book 3)

Twisted Truths (Blood Brothers Book 3) (Nov 14, 2017)

Blood Vowed (Blood Ravagers Book 3)

51gkznh3qzlBlood Vowed by Traci Douglass

My rating: Golden starGolden starGolden starGolden starGolden star

Publisher: Tule Publishing

Publication Date: April 13, 2017

Print Length: 172 pages


Reverend “Rev” Walker, expected some backlash after he foiled The Council’s attempts to overthrow the Blood Ravager Biker Gang. What he hadn’t expected was to wake up in the last place he ever wanted to see again—a dank cell of The Council’s Siberian dungeon. Drained and chained, he faces certain death if he can’t escape from the hellish prison. Now, his only means of escape depends on him accepting help from a fellow prisoner, a woman whose very existence is a lie and the only one capable of awakening Rev’s long-dormant heart.

Claire Deveraux is Dygarian, a race of shadow-shifters who have been slandered and hunted to extinction by The Council. But Claire has used her years of enslavement well, reading her captors’ secret texts and hearing their whispered secrets. Now, after being locked up for a crime she didn’t commit, she plans to use her knowledge of the dungeon’s maze-like interior to gain her freedom, or die trying. Then a new prisoner arrives, a man Claire has dreamed of and knows in her heart is her destined mate, if only she can break through his walls.

On the run and threatened from all sides, will Rev and Claire learn to trust each other and their growing feelings for one another before it’s too late?

Blood Vowed is the 3rd book in Traci Douglass’ Blood Ravagers series. Before this book debut, I advise you to read Blood Bound & Blood Freed to get the full history on this club of misfits.
Keeping a secret from the one that you claim to be falling in love with is never a good idea, even if that secret will save them from hurting even further.
Reverend “Rev” Walker will learn this soon enough. After the last book, we find that not everything is going well with Rev. After letting himself be captured he is held in a dank cell the last place he wanted to be or see again. But that is not all, he finds himself not the only one that the Council has deemed fit to be held in their cell far away from other beings.
Claire Deveraux the last of the Dygarian a race of shadow-shifter wants revenge against the council and the person who slaughter her entire family. But before she could take revenge, she must escape from captivity. In order to do so, she must team up with the other prison.
Blood Vowed is the best of this series by far. It was a far more intriguing story and full of suspense than its predecessors. If you read the others in this series you will see what I mean. Rev and Clair were more engaging as a couple. They just click better for me faster than the twin’s story line.
The banter between Rev and Claire was hilarious and the chemistry was golden. The only disappointing thing about the book was the battle. But then again that is just my opinion. But I would certainly recommend this book, heck the entire series for the gripping storyline alone.

51tn2bxymc-l

cover105837-medium

 
51gkznh3qzl

The Heart of a Texas Cowboy (Men of Legend #2)

51ty4lmtxalTo Love a Texas Ranger by Linda Broday

My rating: Golden starGolden starGolden starGolden starGolden star

Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Publication Date: May 1, 2017

Print Length: 384 pages


Three Brothers. One Oath.
No Compromises.
The MEN of LEGEND


The Cowboy

One bullet is all it takes to shatter Houston Legend’s world. He swore he’d never love again, but with the future of the Lone Star Ranch on the line, he finds himself at the altar promising to love and cherish a woman he’s never met—a woman whose vulnerable beauty touches his heart.

All Lara Boone wants is a name for her baby. She never expected to fall in love with her own husband—or any man—after the heartache she’s endured. Yet when her troubled past catches up with them, Houston will move heaven and earth to protect his bride…and discover depths to a marriage of convenience neither realized could be theirs.

With one bullet this story began. Houston Legend was looking forward to getting married. Cut, of a finger and blood, is flowing, something bad will happen. Houston Legend didn’t believe in any of that. This was a joyous occasion for him and nothing and he means absolutely nothing will spoiling that for him, not even a shallow cut, of a finger.
The groom is ready the music starts to play. The woman of his dream is walking down the aisle. He’s not nervous. One brother is beside him where is the other. He looks up there he is. He turns, he smiles at his soon to be wife. A shot is heard his bride goes down, his life is changed, forever.
With that one instance, Houston swore he wouldn’t love again. Until he founds that his father put the Lone Star Ranch up for collateral in a poker game. Now he stands before a priest swearing to love and cherish a woman that he’s never met, a woman he learns that was attached a born a child from that atrocious day.
Lara Boone wants nothing more than a name for her baby. She never hoped that any man would except her baby as his own. She never thought she would grow to love the man that she calls husband.
When I read the synopsis of The Heart of a Texas Cowboy, the plotline sounded good and since it has been awhile that I even picked up a cowboy romance. I thought I give it a try. Well, this book surprised even me how good it was.
Normally when the action takes place at the beginning of the story it seems very hard for some authors to maintain that flow of excitement throughout the book. However, Linda Broday seems to have no problem. The Heart of a Texas Cowboy was actioned packed throughout the entire book. The characters grew on me, especially the younger brother Henry. I just knew that something bad was going to happen to him. I am not going to tell you if something did or not that is your mystery that you must solve.
The romance between Houston and Lara was beautifully written and progressed naturally. What I loved about this book was Houston he was attentive and very protective of his little family. Even when Lara past came knocking Houston was there to answer the door.
Since I didn’t get the chance to read Sam’s book I just should. If his book was anything like this book, must catch up with the Legends before Luke’s book comes out. Now, that book is the one I will be anxiously waiting to read. If what I’ve read in this book, Luke is one dangerous hombre.

The Heart of a Texas Cowboy comes out May 1, 2017. Thanks for stopping by to read this review. Leave a comment if you want to know anything more about this book, before its debut.

To Love a Texas Ranger (Men of Legend Book 1) by [Broday, Linda]

   To Love a Texas Ranger (Men of Legend #1)

51ty4lmtxal

       The Heart of a Texas Cowboy (Men of Legend #2)